The Provincial Government introduced legislation to create a cost-sharing mechanism and a dedicated agency that will promote waste diversion throughout the province.
If passed, the Waste Diversion Act will create Waste Diversion Ontario (WDO), an agency responsible for developing, expanding, and financing waste diversion programs including the Blue Box program.  The novel financing mechanism involves cost-sharing amongst relevant industry associations, and municipalities, where applicable. This represents the first private-public cost sharing arrangement of its kind in Ontario.

In response to the proposed legislation, Ann Mulvale, President of AMO, commented, "We are pleased to have been a part of this innovative solution to accelerate waste diversion in Ontario. We congratulate the Government for adopting the WDO recommendations.  AMO and municipalities will continue to support this process and the work of the Waste Diversion Ontario."

The legislation is in response to a report prepared by the Waste Diversion Organization, a joint industry-municipal committee established in 1999 to make recommendations to the Minister of the Environment on the means to improve waste diversion.  Ann Mulvale explained, "We are particularly pleased that the 50:50 cost sharing arrangement between industry and municipalities in support of  municipal Blue Box programs will be enshrined in law. This will help to support municipal waste diversion programs that are essential to reach the provincial goal of 50% waste diversion."

The new WDO will have strong municipal representation on its board of directors, with four of the thirteen members appointed by the Association of Municipalities of Ontario. Other members will include representatives of various industries whose packaging and/ or products will be included in the waste diversion programs developed by the new WDO. At present, this is to include Corporations Supporting Recycling (CSR), the Canadian Newspaper Association (CNA), the Liquor Control Board of Ontario (LCBO), Brewers Retail Council, the Canadian Paint and Coatings Association (CPCA) and the Canadian Manufacturers of Chemical Specialities Association (CMCSA), and the Retail Council of Canada (RCC).  

The Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) is a non-profit organization with member municipalities representing 98 per cent of Ontario's population.