Toronto, Ont., August 20, 2002 – The Regional Municipality of Halton has won a Peter J. Marshall Municipal Innovation Awards Plaque in recognition of its “Housing Help Centre” initiative.
Joyce Savoline, Regional Chair, and Rob Cressman, Director of Housing, accepted the award on behalf of the Region at the recent annual conference of the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO).

“The Marshall Awards are an excellent showcase for one of the long-standing traditions of municipal governments – learning from one another by building and expanding on ideas that will provide better service to our communities.” said Ann Mulvale, President of AMO.  “This year’s award recipients demonstrate leadership and creativity in the projects they have undertaken projects and their communities are already seeing real benefits.”

The Centre was established to provide those seeking housing with information on housing options and community resources and provides a more effective and holistic assessment of need.  Assessment now looks at service needs from services for children, healthy babies healthy children, seniors, low income and emergency shelter.  The initiative not only provides an increased level of service, there are tangible benefits for the taxpayers and economic development in the Region of Halton.

The Marshall Awards is an annual competitive process, with submissions by Ontario municipalities judged on their creativity and success in implementing new, innovative ways of serving the public.

Three municipalities were Plaque Recipients of the 2002 Marshall Awards. The Awards are sponsored by AMO, the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing, the Municipal Finance Officers Association, the Ontario Municipal Administrators Association, the Association of Municipal Managers, Clerks and Treasurers of Ontario, and the Canada Council for Public-Private Partnerships. 

AMO is a non-profit organization with member municipalities representing 98 per cent of Ontario’s population.  The mandate of AMO is to promote, support and enhance strong and effective municipal government in Ontario. 

- 30 -