Toronto, Ont., August 19, 2005 – Jacques Hétu, Mayor of the Town of Hawkesbury, has been named to the AMO’s Honour Roll.
This award is given annually to individuals in appreciation of their exemplary service to municipal government and to AMO.

“In addition to serving his own municipality, Jacques Hétu has made an extraordinary contribution to improving municipal government throughout all of Ontario,” said AMO President Roger Anderson.  “He has distinguished himself among our members, all of whom make great personal sacrifices in the name of better public service.”

Mayor Hétu was one of three individuals named to the Association’s 2005 Honour Roll at the 2005 AMO Conference’s August 17 dinner banquet at the Westin Harbour Castle Hotel, Toronto.  More than 1800 municipal politicians and government officials attended the three day conference.  

“Each of our award winners has shown an immense commitment and leadership in advancing municipal government as that third order of government,” said Pat Vanini, Executive Director of AMO.  “They are truly representative of municipal officials all across Ontario, who work hard every day to provide excellence in municipal government.”  
Mayor Hétu has made a remarkable contribution to Ontario’s municipalities during his relatively short political career.  Recruited to serve as Mayor shortly after having moved to Hawkesbury from Quebec in 2000, Jacques Hétu is a member of AMO’s Board and current head of AFMO – the francophone municipal association.  He is past Chair of the Eastern Warden’s group and a municipal representative on the Municipal Property Assessment Corporation.  As such, he has played an important role in advocating municipal interests.  In addition, he is easily the most recognizable voice of Ontario’s municipalities in the Province’s French media.  

AMO is a non-profit organization representing almost all of Ontario’s 445 municipal governments.  AMO supports and enhances strong and effective municipal government in Ontario and promotes the value of municipal government as a vital and essential component of Ontario and Canada’s political system.