TORONTO, August 22, 2006 – The Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) has awarded York Region a Peter J. Marshall Municipal Innovation Award for its VIVA rapid transit system.
The public-private partnership combines new technology with sound planning to manage future growth and promote better traffic flow. The award was presented at the 2006 Annual AMO Conference in Ottawa on August 15. 

“The P.J. Marshall Award recognizes leaders and innovative practices that improve municipal programs, services and efficiencies for the benefit of the communities they serve,” said Doug Reycraft, President of AMO.  “York Region’s VIVA transit system is a model for the management of growing commuter needs, efficient implementation and better environmental protection.”  
The award was accepted by Bill Fisch, Chair of York Region and President of the York Region Rapid Transit Corporation.  

“The biggest problem we have in York region is congestion and this is one way we can make a dent in that problem and set an example for sustainability,” said Fisch. “Recognition from AMO, and municipal peers who understand the challenges we face, means a great deal to us.” 

The P.J. Marshall Award is an annual competitive process, with submissions by Ontario municipalities that are judged on their creativity and success in implementing new, innovative ways of serving the public. 

AMO is a non-profit organization representing almost all of Ontario’s 445 municipal governments.  AMO supports and enhances strong and effective municipal government in Ontario and promotes the value of municipal government as a vital and essential component of Ontario and Canada’s political system.

- 30 -