Toronto, Ontario, August 29, 2008. AMO named Ken Taniwa, Executive Director of the Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association, to the AMO Honour Roll on August 26 at the 2008 AMO Conference in Ottawa.
“Ken Taniwa is the embodiment of NOMA,” said AMO’s Immediate Past President Doug Reycraft as he announced the induction.  “As Executive Director of NOMA he’s been instrumental in ensuring that his Board advanced municipal priorities whenever and wherever he could.”

Ken is nearing retirement after 47 years of dedicated service to municipal government in Northern Ontario and beyond.   His career, which began in 1961 in Neebing Township, included positions in Thunder Bay, Sioux Lookout, Marathon and Manitouwadge.  He also worked for Field Services of the Ministry of Municipal Affairs for Northwestern Ontario and served as a member of AMO’s Board of Directors.

AMO’s Honour Roll recognizes people who have gone beyond their normal roles and responsibilities and who have stepped up to represent municipal governments provincially and nationally, advocating for the betterment of municipal government and our service to communities. 

AMO is a non-profit organization representing almost all of Ontario’s 445 municipal governments.  AMO supports strong and effective municipal government in Ontario and promotes the value of municipal government as a vital and essential component of Ontario and Canada’s political system.  

- 30 -