Toronto, Ontario, August 28, 2008. The Town of Aurora, Township of King, Town of Newmarket and Town of East Gwillimbury accepted the Merit Award for excellence in innovation on behalf of the six northern municipalities, including the Towns of Georgina
These six municipalities came together to develop and implement a new waste management strategy.  By setting aside a ‘going it alone’ mentality, these municipalities came together to save more than $11 million dollars over the next ten years by combining communication campaigns on their blue box, yard waste, household hazardous waste diversion and organic waste programs.

The award was accepted on behalf of the group by Phyllis Morris, Mayor of Aurora, Margaret Black, Mayor of the Township of King, Tony Van Bynen, Mayor of Newmarket and Councillor Jack Hauseman, Town of East Gwillimbury.  

“We are proud of all that we have achieved by working together,” said Phyllis Morris.  “Not only have we achieved significant cost savings, we have doubled our waste diversion rate and we expect to exceed the goal of 65% diversion by 2010.”

“This award celebrates innovative partnerships that municipalities have undertaken to maximize resources and serve their communities better,” said Peter Hume, AMO President.  “This project highlights what can be achieved through collaboration.”

The P.J. Marshall Award is an annual competitive process organized by AMO.  Awards acknowledge municipalities who have demonstrated leadership and innovation in public-private partnerships.  Submissions by Ontario municipalities are judged by a panel on their creativity and success in implementing new, innovative ways of serving the public.

This year a Certificate of Merit and a Plaque were awarded.

AMO is a non-profit organization representing almost all of Ontario’s 445 municipal governments.  AMO supports strong and effective municipal government in Ontario and promotes the value of municipal government as a vital and essential component of Ontario and Canada’s political system.  

- 30 -