Ottawa, Ontario, August 21, 2012 – The City of Mississauga today received an AMO Gas Tax Award for investing in a fully accessible fleet of transit vehicles.
The Honourable Steven Fletcher, Minister of State for Transport and Gary McNamara, AMO President presented the award to Mississauga Mayor Hazel McCallion on stage at the Association’s annual conference in Ottawa on Monday, August 20.

The AMO Gas Tax Award celebrates the investment of Canada’s Gas Tax Fund in projects that help achieve the Fund’s environmental objectives of cleaner water, cleaner air or reduced greenhouse gas emissions. Winning projects also have wide ranging benefits to the community, address a local need and demonstrate long-term planning. 

“We’re honoured to receive this award. When I think of transit, it is so essential to those that need accessibility facilities today. Thanks to the Gas Tax, we were able to make sure that our transit was fully accessible.” said Mayor Hazel McCallion. 

The City of Mississauga now has a fully accessible fleet of transit vehicles – thanks to an investment of $71.96 million from Canada’s Gas Tax Fund. The new transit vehicles are low-floor, kneeling and have deployable ramps that make it easier for riders to get on and off the bus. In addition, new engine technology has improved fuel efficiency resulting in significant emission reductions despite an increase in service. The improvements mean that local riders will save costs as they switch from para-transit to the new, accessible fleet of vehicles.

Investing Canada’s Gas Tax Fund in the accessible transit fleet means positive environmental, social and financial outcomes for the City of Mississauga. The Fund’s flexible, long-term nature allowed the City to plan ahead and accelerate vehicle replacement, resulting in barrier free vehicles a full five years ahead of schedule. 
“The City of Mississauga’s accessible transit fleet demonstrates the impact of Canada’s Gas Tax Fund in meeting our local infrastructure needs,” said Gary McNamara, AMO President. “Municipalities can rely on it to invest in projects that matter the most to their communities”. 

Canada’s Gas Tax Fund is the only permanent, predictable, long-term source of municipal infrastructure funding. Ontario municipalities receive $746 million per year for investment in six categories of infrastructure or projects that contribute to long-term planning. Three municipalities received an AMO Gas Tax Award in 2012 including the Municipality of Wawa for its investment in rooftop solar panels and the City of Cambridge which received a Gas Tax Capacity Building Award for its investment in asset management.

AMO is a non-profit organization representing almost all of Ontario’s 444 municipal governments. AMO supports strong and effective municipal government in Ontario and promotes the value of municipal government as a vital and essential component of Ontario and Canada’s political system.

- 30 -