Ottawa, Ontario, August 21, 2013 – The Town of Richmond Hill’s Oak Ridges Community Centre has won an AMO Gas Tax Award.

The Honourable Greg Rickford, Minister of State for Science and Technology and Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario and Russ Powers, AMO President, presented the award to Brenda Hogg, Regional and Local Councillor for Richmond Hill, at the Association’s annual conference in Ottawa on Tuesday, August 20.

The AMO Gas Tax Awards celebrate excellence in the use of Canada’s Gas Tax Fund. Winning projects help improve local quality of life by producing cleaner water, cleaner air or reduced greenhouse gas emissions and by demonstrating long-term planning for environmental and community sustainability.

“We are proud to have received the AMO Gas Tax Award for our very popular Oak Ridges Community Centre,” said Dave Barrow, Mayor of Richmond Hill. “This facility has many important and unique environmental features that demonstrate our commitment to respecting the natural environment.”

The Town of Richmond Hill invested $2.4 million from Canada’s Gas Tax Fund into Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Silver Standard components of the new Oak Ridges Community Centre. The 60-thousand square foot Centre was built using local wood and stone and boasts many green features that will contribute to a 40 per cent reduction in water use and a 25 per cent improvement in energy efficiency.

The Centre sits on the shore of Lake Wilcox, a beautiful natural area that promotes the Oak Ridges Moraine and Richmond Hill Watersheds. Investing Canada’s Gas Tax Fund into the Oak Ridges Centre will help Richmond Hill remain one of Canada’s best places to live and a smart place to do business.

“Richmond Hill’s Oak Ridges Community Centre demonstrates the impact of Canada’s Gas Tax Fund on improving quality of life in Ontario’s municipalities,” said Russ Powers, AMO President. “The Centre will meet residents’ needs, achieve environmental objectives and attract people to do business in the Town for years to come.”

Canada’s Gas Tax Fund is the only permanent and stable source of funding for municipal infrastructure. It provides Ontario municipalities with $746 million per year. AMO delivers the Fund to all Ontario municipalities, except Toronto, twice a year, on a per capita basis. It is invested in infrastructure that makes our communities safer, more efficient and prosperous. Other 2013 winners include the City of Port Colborne for its Vale Health & Wellness Community Centre and the City of Barrie for its Storm Water Facility Asset Management Plan. You can learn more about the Gas Tax Fund in Ontario by visiting www.gastaxatwork.ca or @GasTaxinOntario on Twitter.

AMO is a non-profit organization representing almost all of Ontario’s 444 municipal governments.  AMO supports and enhances strong and effective municipal government in Ontario and promotes the value of municipal government as a vital and essential component of Ontario and Canada’s political system.

- 30 -
Required form 'CaucusSelection' does not exist.