London, Ontario, August 20, 2014 – The Honourable Ted McMeekin, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, and Pat Vanini, Executive Director of AMO, presented a P.J. Marshall Plaque Award to the County of Simcoe for the redevelopment of its Georgian Village adult lifestyle community.
The Award was presented August 18, on the main stage of the 2014 AMO Conference in London. A Plaque Award recognizes projects that exemplify all of the P.J. Marshall Award’s criteria: innovation, tangible benefits, improved efficiency, innovative financing and transferability.

“The County of Simcoe’s vision for a state-of-the-art lifestyle community has been realized with the completion of Georgian Village,” said Cal Patterson, Warden of the County of Simcoe. “Georgian Village meets the needs of seniors in our community in a much more vibrant, diverse and respectful way, while also achieving cost effectiveness, value, and energy efficiency. We are very honoured to receive a PJ Marshall Innovation Award for this exciting County project.”

The Georgian Village redevelopment project transformed the County’s 107-bed long-term care facility into a full-scale adult lifestyle community with a range of housing and care options. The redeveloped Georgian Village community now offers: 143 long-term care beds; 42 assisted living rentals; 40 affordable housing rental apartments; 40 life-lease apartment suites; an adult care facility and 17 life-lease garden homes.

Georgian Village was also designed to address the needs of the community’s most vulnerable, with 12 of its affordable housing rental apartments designated for clients with mental health needs or victims of domestic abuse. The facility also boasts a LEED silver designation, featuring a number of innovative technological advancements including wireless technology for energy use, security, fall prevention and medial use.

“The County of Simcoe’s innovative Georgian Village uses the latest technology to meet the diverse needs of residents,” said Pat Vanini, AMO’s Executive Director. “The County created a new campus and a unique community that gives residents a range of lifestyle and care options.”

The P.J. Marshall Award is an annual competitive process organized by AMO that involves the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing and the Centre for Public Private Partnerships. Awards acknowledge municipalities who have demonstrated leadership and innovation and in public-private partnerships. Submissions by Ontario municipalities are judged by a panel on their creativity and success in implementing new, innovative ways of serving the public.

This year, one Certificate of Merit was awarded alongside three Plaque Awards. The Town of Deseronto received a Certificate of Merit for its transit system. The Town of Goderich received a Plaque Award for its Harbour Revitalization project. A Plaque Award was also presented jointly to the Town of Georgian Bluffs and the Township of Chatsworth for its Biodigester project.  

AMO is a non-profit organization representing almost all of Ontario’s 444 municipal governments.  AMO supports strong and effective municipal government in Ontario and promotes the value of municipal government as a vital and essential component of Ontario and Canada’s political system.

- 30 -

Required form 'CaucusSelection' does not exist.