Windsor, Ontario, August 17, 2016 – The Town of Smooth Rock Falls has won an AMO Gas Tax Award. Lynn Dollin, AMO President, presented the award today to Michael Arseneault, Mayor of Smooth Rock Falls, Sue Perras, Councillor and Luc Denault, Chief Administrative Officer.

The AMO Gas Tax Awards honour municipalities that have demonstrated excellence in the use of the federal Gas Tax Fund. Winning projects improve local quality of life by making a difference in our communities, while achieving the Fund’s objectives.

“Predictable, long-term funding from the Gas Tax Fund allows Smooth Rock Falls to plan for long-term investment,” said Michael Arseneault, Mayor of Smooth Falls. “We have a plan that identifies projects with a three-year minimum outlook. Knowing funding is in place brings us one step closer to turning our plan into reality.”

Smooth Rock Falls invested $56,316 from the federal Gas Tax Fund into improvements at its Reg Lamy Cultural Centre, including new fire exits, play bench upgrades and safety upgrades. Predictable federal funding allows the municipality to continue to invest in local recreation infrastructure that residents rely on. Improvements to the Reg Lamy Cultural Centre allow Smooth Rock Falls to continue to hold sport tournaments in the community.

“Knowing your yearly federal Gas Tax allocation ahead of time allows municipal councils to effectively plan for long-term investment,” said Lynn Dollin, AMO President. “Smooth Rock Falls’ investment in recreation infrastructure will benefit residents for years to come.”

“The Government of Canada has committed to working with provinces, territories and municipalities to ensure they receive the support they need to build strong and vibrant communities. The federal Gas Tax Fund gives communities like Smooth Rock Falls the flexibility to spend money on infrastructure projects where they need it most,” said Amarjeet Sohi, Minister of Infrastructure and Communities.

The City of Cambridge also received an AMO Gas Tax Award for its investment in asset management planning. The Municipality of Sioux Lookout and the Township of Terrace Bay received honourable mentions for investment in local recreation and water infrastructure.

The federal Gas Tax Fund is one of the only permanent and stable sources of funding for municipal infrastructure and is helping to close a province-wide infrastructure gap. AMO delivers the Fund to all Ontario municipalities, except Toronto, twice a year, on a per capita basis. This flexible approach means that federal funding can address the diverse needs found in all of Ontario’s municipalities. Since its launch in 2005, municipalities across Ontario have invested more than $4.3 billion from the federal Gas Tax Fund into 6,700 infrastructure projects worth more than $11.9 billion.

You can learn more about the Gas Tax Fund in Ontario by visiting or @GasTaxinOntario on Twitter.

AMO is a non-profit organization representing almost all of Ontario’s 444 municipal governments.  AMO supports and enhances strong and effective municipal government in Ontario and promotes the value of municipal government as a vital and essential component of Ontario and Canada’s political system.