The Canada-United States of America Agreement on Government Procurement will affect Ontario Municipalities by Opening some Municipal Bids to US companies.
Procurements by forty-five Ontario municipalities will now be open to U.S. bidders for construction contracts over $8.5 million in return for access by Canadian firms to U.S. stimulus projects.

Forty-five Ontario municipalities with populations over 50,000 will open their municipal bidding processes to American bidders under the new Canada-U.S.A. deal on government procurement which came into effect on February 16, 2010.

The municipal commitments are part of a limited time agreement which expires on September 30, 2011 and will allow Canadian companies access to projects proposed under the $787 billion American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, the American stimulus legislation.

In return, U.S. firms will have access to provincial and municipal procurements in Canada. The provinces and territories will sign on to the Government Procurement Agreement under the World Trade Organization (WTO) offering permanent access to provincial and territorial tenders.

Municipal construction tenders worth $8.5 million and over will be open to American bids during the agreement timeframe. To be compliant, municipalities must have open and transparent bidding processes and bid protest processes. Cultural agencies, electrical distribution companies, transit, highway  construction, sports and convention facilities and emergency response operations are exempted from the agreement.

The agreement is in direct response to municipal sector concerns regarding “Buy America” provisions in the stimulus legislation affecting local businesses and workers in Ontario municipalities and efforts by municipalities, FCM and AMO to have the federal government and the province reach a successful conclusion to the issue.

The following municipalities are covered:

  • Ajax 
  • Barrie 
  • Brampton 
  • Brantford 
  • Burlington 
  • Caledon 
  • Cambridge 
  • Chatham-Kent 
  • Clarington 
  • Greater Sudbury/Grand Sudbury 
  • Guelph 
  • Halton Hills 
  • Hamilton 
  • Kawartha Lakes 
  • Kingston 
  • Kitchener
  • London 
  • Markham 
  • Milton 
  • Mississauga 
  • Newmarket 
  • Niagara Falls 
  • Norfolk County 
  • North Bay 
  • Oakville 
  • Oshawa 
  • Ottawa 
  • Peterborough 
  • Pickering 
  • Regional Municipality of Durham 
  • Regional Municipality of Halton
  • Regional Municipality of Niagara 
  • Regional Municipality of Peel 
  • Regional Municipality of Waterloo 
  • Regional Municipality of York 
  • Richmond Hill 
  • Sarnia 
  • Sault Ste. Marie 
  • St. Catharines 
  • Thunder Bay 
  • Toronto 
  • Vaughan 
  • Waterloo 
  • Whitby 
  • Windsor