With the resignation of Minister Linda Jeffrey today, the Premier has announced the following changes:

  • Bill Mauro (Thunder Bay-Atikokan) is the new Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, formerly its Parliamentary Assistant;
  • Kevin Flynn becomes Minister of Labour, moving from Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Infrastructure, Transportation;
  • Yasir Naqvi moves from Labour  to become the Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services;
  • Madeleine Meilleur is moved from Community Safety and Correctional Services and is the new Attorney General;
  • John Gerretsen becomes Chair of Cabinet which Linda Jeffrey held.
Each of these ministerial moves affect a number of policy priorities that we have been working on – from the review of the land use planning and Development Charges Act, relief from joint and several liability, to managing emergency services costs including interest arbitration.   

AMO will continue to press to see advancement of the municipal perspective for these priority matters with these new Cabinet Ministers.  In addition, we look forward to working with Minister Mauro and his staff to ensure a smooth transition within the Memorandum of Understanding Agreement between AMO and the Province.
Required form 'CaucusSelection' does not exist.