June 13, 2016

Today Premier Kathleen Wynne appointed seven new Ministers to Cabinet and made significant changes to some portfolios in her first Cabinet shuffle since leading the Liberals to majority government in June 2014.

The Cabinet shuffle was widely speculated to take place after the close of the Spring Legislative session, and reflect a more gender-balanced Cabinet. Today’s announcement confirmed this, with 40% of positions now held by women, including five new Ministers – Laura Albanese, Marie-France Lalonde, Kathryn McGarry, Eleanor McMahon, and Indira Naidoo-Harris.

In the days leading up to the announcement, four veteran Ministers voluntarily retired from their portfolios, including the Honourable Ted McMeekin, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing. AMO would like to thank Ted McMeekin, the long-standing MPP and former Hamilton City Councillor, for his commitment and efforts as Minister over the past two years.

AMO would like to congratulate the Honourable Bill Mauro on his appointment as the Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister Mauro is a former Councillor of Thunder Bay and recently held the position of Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry. He previously served as Minister and Parliamentary Assistant of Municipal Affairs and Housing in 2014. We look forward to working with Minister Mauro and his staff.
With the Ontario Legislature returning for its Fall sitting on September 12th, the new Cabinet has time to be briefed on their portfolios. The Ministers’ Forum and ministerial delegations at our August Conference is perfectly timed for AMO’s members attending the conference.

The New Provincial Cabinet Sworn in Today
  • Kathleen Wynne - Premier and President of the Council; Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Deb Matthews - Deputy Premier; Minister of Advanced Education and Skills Development; Chair of Cabinet; Minister Responsible for Digital Government
  • Michael Gravelle - Minister of Northern Development and Mines
  • Brad Duguid - Minister of Economic Development and Growth
  • Jeff Leal - Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
  • David Orazietti - Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services
  • Liz Sandals - President of the Treasury Board
  • David Zimmer - Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation
  • Michael Chan - Minister of International Trade
  • Reza Moridi - Minister of Research, Innovation and Science
  • Yasir Naqvi - Attorney General; Government House Leader
  • Charles Sousa - Minister of Finance
  • Eric Hoskins - Minister of Health and Long-Term Care
  • Glen Murray - Minister of the Environment and Climate Change
  • Bob Chiarelli - Minister of Infrastructure
  • Michael Coteau - Minister of Children and Youth Services; Minister Responsible for Anti-Racism
  • Tracy MacCharles - Minister Responsible for Women’s Issues; Minister Responsible for Accessibility
  • Kevin Flynn - Minister of Labour
  • Bill Mauro - Minister of Municipal Affairs
  • Helena Jaczek - Minister of Community and Social Services
  • Dipika Damerla - Minister Responsible for Seniors Affairs
  • Steven Del Duca - Minister of Transportation
  • Mitzie Hunter - Minister of Education
  • Laura Albanese* - Minister of Citizenship and Immigration
  • Chris Ballard* - Minister of Housing; Minister Responsible for the Poverty Reduction Strategy
  • Marie-France Lalonde* - Minister of Government and Consumer Services; Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs
  • Kathryn McGarry* - Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry
  • Eleanor McMahon* - Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport
  • Indira Naidoo-Harris* - Associate Minister of Finance (Ontario Retirement Pension Plan)
  • Glenn Thibeault* - Minister of Energy
*New Ministers to Cabinet