Today Premier Kathleen Wynne appointed new Ministers to Cabinet and made changes to some portfolios in a mini Cabinet shuffle.  This shuffle was expected given the announcement of some senior Cabinet Ministers’ upcoming retirements in June.

Cabinet appointments and portfolio changes today included:
  • Hon. Steven Del Duca, Minister of Economic Development and Growth
  • Hon. Nathalie Des Rosiers, Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry
  • Hon. Mitzie Hunter becomes Minister of Advanced Education and Skills Development
  • Hon. Harinder Malhi, Minister of the Status of Women
  • Hon. Kathryn McGarry, Minister of Transportation
  • Hon. Eleanor McMahon, President of the Treasury Board and Minister Responsible for Digital Government
  • Hon. Indira Naidoo-Harris, Minister of Education and remains Minister Responsible for Early Years and Child Care
  • Hon. Daiene Vernile, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport.
In addition, Dr. Helena Jaczek, Minister of Community and Social Services, will take on the responsibilities of Chair of Cabinet.

With the Ontario Legislature returning on February 20st, the newly shuffled Cabinet Ministers have some time to be briefed on their portfolios.  The ROMA Ministers’ Forum is on January 22th and there will be ministerial delegations at the upcoming ROMA Conference.