

# 2022 - 2024 AMO BOARD OF DIRECTORS Nominations Report of the Secretary-Treasurer

July 4, 2022



# Monday, July 04, 2022

To: Heads and Members of Council

From: Gary Dyke, Secretary-Treasurer, AMO

It is my pleasure to submit a copy of my report on the candidates standing for election for the 2022 – 2024 AMO Board of Directors, as confirmed by the Chief Returning Officer (CRO). The CRO has confirmed candidates against the nomination requirements and processes.

#### **Elections Process**

Elections to the AMO Board of Directors will be held during the Annual Conference & General Meeting, on Monday, August 15, 2022, 12:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. and Tuesday, August 16, 2022, 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Voting will be conducted in person in the Parliament Foyer, Shaw Centre, Ottawa (outside the Plenary Hall).

All elected officials from member municipalities in good standing with the Association, who are delegates to the 2022 AMO Annual Conference & General Meeting, are eligible to vote for the President, Secretary-Treasurer, and in the Caucus for which the delegate has registered.

Note, the deadline to change a delegate's Caucus affiliation is Monday, July 18, 2022. If you wish to change the Caucus in which you are currently registered, please email events@amo.on.ca with your name and desired Caucus affiliation before the July 18, 2022, deadline.

The Chief Returning Officer will announce the results of the election on Tuesday, August 16, 2022, during the afternoon main stage programming in the Plenary Hall.

#### **Notice of Elections and Acclamations:**

The following positions have been acclaimed (no election required):

- President
- Secretary-Treasurer
- County Caucus: One (1) municipal elected official position
- Large Urban Caucus: Five (5) municipal elected official positions; One (1) municipal staff position
- Northern Caucus: Two (2) municipal elected official positions from Northwestern Ontario
- Regional & Single Tier Caucus: Four (4) municipal elected official positions
- Rural Caucus: Four (4) municipal elected official positions

Elections will be held in accordance with AMO By-law No. 2 for the following positions at the AMO Annual Conference & General Meeting, subject to the withdrawal of any candidates:

- Northern Caucus: Three (3) nominations received for two (2) vacant municipal elected official positions from Northeastern Ontario
- Rural Caucus: Two (2) nominations received for one (1) vacant municipal staff position
- Small Urban Caucus: Six (6) nominations received for four (4) vacant municipal elected official positions



### **Notice of Vacancies**

The following positions on the 2022 – 2024 AMO Board of Directors remain vacant and will be filled upon approval of a process to fill the vacancies by the 2022 – 2024 AMO Board of Directors:

- County Caucus: Two (2) vacant municipal elected official positions; One (1) vacant municipal staff position
- Regional & Single Tier Caucus: Two (2) vacant municipal elected official positions
- Small Urban Caucus: One (1) vacant municipal staff position

## **Nominations Received**

## President

Acclaimed

Colin Best, Councillor, Region of Halton

## Secretary-Treasurer

Acclaimed

Trevor Wilcox, General Manager, Corporate Performance, County of Simcoe

# **County Caucus**

Municipal Elected Officials (Acclaimed)

Aina DeViet, Councillor, County of Middlesex

# **Large Urban Caucus**

Municipal Elected Officials (Acclaimed)

Dawn Dodge, Councillor, City of St. Catharines

Luke Dufour, Councillor, City of Sault Ste. Marie

Anna Hopkins, Councillor, City of London

Marianne Meed Ward, Mayor, City of Burlington

Bryan Paterson, Mayor, City of Kingston

## Municipal Staff (Acclaimed)

Daniel Chapman, Chief Administrative Officer, City of Kitchener

### Northern Caucus

Northeastern Ontario (Election to be held)

John P. Curley, Councillor, City of Timmins

Roger Sigouin, Mayor, Town of Hearst

Rod Ward, Councillor, Township of Armour

## Northwestern Ontario (Acclaimed)

Rick Dumas, Mayor, Town of Marathon

Fred Mota, Mayor, Municipality of Red Lake

## Regional and Single Tier Caucus

Municipal Elected Officials (Acclaimed)

Riley Brockington, Councillor, City of Ottawa

Robert Foster, Councillor, Region of Niagara

Rhonda Mulcahy, Councillor, Region of Durham

Paul Vicente, Councillor, Region of Peel



## **Rural Caucus**

Municipal Elected Officials (Acclaimed)
Peter Emon, Councillor, County of Renfrew
Robin Jones, Mayor, Village of Westport
Christine Robinson, Mayor, Municipality of West Grey
Rainey Weisler, Deputy Mayor, Municipality of Bayham

Municipal Staff (Election to be held)
Sandra Datars Bere, City Manager, City of St. Thomas
Chris Wray, Chief Administrative Officer, Township of Black River-Matheson

## **Small Urban Caucus**

Municipal Elected Officials (Election to be held)
Deb Doherty, Councillor, Town of Collingwood
Lynn Dollin, Mayor, Town of Innisfil
Bob Kwapis, Councillor, Town of Newmarket
Hilda MacDonald, Mayor, Municipality of Leamington
Stephen Molnar, Mayor, Town of Tillsonburg
Bill Sandison, Councillor, City of Belleville